SEPARATION

5 07 2014

This part of the show is the first chapter of “The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know Is Possible,” by Charles Eisenstein.  Readings from this book will be a regular feature of my monthly slot on The Green Hour until I have read the entire book on the air.  I will continue to link to chapters as I present it, but please buy this book!  Charles will be a featured speaker at the Green Party’s annual meeting in St. Paul, Minnesota July 24-7.  What follows is the opening and closing paragraphs of the first chapter.

Sometimes I feel nostalgic for the cultural mythology of my youth, a world in which there was nothing wrong with soda pop, in which the Super Bowl was important, in which America was bringing democracy to the world, in which the doctor could fix you, in which science was going to make life better and better, and they just put a man on the moon.AmDream-2

Sometimes I feel nostalgic for the cultural mythology of my youth, a world in which there was nothing wrong with soda pop, in which the Super Bowl was important, in which America was bringing democracy to the world, in which the doctor could fix you, in which science was going to make life better and better, and they just put a man on the moon……

I do not offer this book as someone who has completed this transition himself. Far from it. I have no more authority to write this book than any other man or woman. I am not an avatar or a saint, I am not channeling ascended masters or ETs, I have no unusual psychic powers or intellectual genius, I have not passed through any remarkable hardship or ordeal, I have no especially deep spiritual practice or shamanic training. I am an ordinary man. You will, therefore, have to take my words on their own merits.

And if my words fulfill their intention, which is to catalyze a next step, big or small, into the more beautiful world our hearts know is possible, my very ordinariness becomes highly significant. It shows how close we all are, all of us ordinary humans, to a profound transformation of consciousness and being. If I, an ordinary man, can see it, we must be almost there..

James McMurtry, “Twelve O’Clock Whistle

Talking Heads, “Once In A Lifetime

Eliza Gilkyson, “Through the Looking Glass

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

